Dr. Setzen’s Qualifications

  • Co-Chair Physician Payment Policy Group (3P) 2009-2013, responsible to the Board of Directors AAO-HNS and part of the Health Policy arm of AAO-HNS – served on the Board of Directors AAO-HNS in this capacity 2009-2013. Consultant 3P 2013 – October 2020.
  • Coordinator Practice Affairs for AAO-HNS 2009-2013
  • Advisory Board of the Monthly Bulletin Newsletter of the American Academy of Otolaryngology, Head & Neck Surgery 2010-2013
  • President – American Rhinological Society, 2011-2012, Immediate Past President 2012-2013
  • ENT Journal – Editorial Board
  • Editorial Advisory Board Member for Otolaryngology Coding Alert (2007-present)
  • International Forum of Allergy & Rhinology-Editorial Board Member-(2010 to present) – Official Journal of the American Rhinologic Society (ARS) and the American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy (AAOA).
  • American Journal of Otolaryngology-Editorial Board Member (2003-present)
  • Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery -Associate Editor and Editorial Board Member-(2002-2006)
  • Sinusitis- Editorial Board Member (October 2020-present)
  • Journal of Clinical Medicine – Associate Editor and Editorial Board Member (November 2018-present)
  • Partners for Progress American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
  • Received Accreditation from IAC as an Accredited Computed Tomography Laboratory – July, 2010. This will ensure adherence to the highest standards in patient care and safety when performing CT imaging.
  • American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Distinguished Service Award was presented during the Opening Ceremony of the 2010 AAO-HNS Annual Meeting & OTO EXPO. This event was held on Sunday, September 26, 2010, at the Boston Convention & Exhibition Center. This prestigious award is given to members in recognition of their volunteer contributions to the Academy and its Foundation, and for exceptional services in the Scientific Programs, Exhibits, Continuing Education Courses and Instructional Courses. Recognized in the August, 2010 program supplement of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery and the September, 2010 Bulletin of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery.
  • Elected in General Election September, 2008 as Coordinator of Practice Affairs on the Board of Directors of American Academy of Head and Neck Surgery (AAO-HNS) – September, 2008 – September, 2011
  • Government Affairs Steering Committee AAO-HNS, Member – 10/01/2008 to 09/30/2009
  • Professional Liability Committee Chair-elect AAO-HNS for 2008 -2009.
  • Committee Member Core Otolaryngology Practice Management Education Committee (COPMEC) of the AAO-HNS ,October 2008
  • American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery Foundation (AAO-HNSF) appointment to the Core Otolaryngology and Practice Management Education Committee as an ex-officio for a one-year term, starting October 1, 2008 representing the Professional Liability Committee
  • American Rhinologic Society Board, 2nd Vice President of the American Rhinologic Society, September, 2008-2009, 1st Vice President 2009-2010, President-Elect 2010-2011, President in 2011-2012
  • American Rhinologic Society, Fellow-Chairman Patient Advocacy Committee 2003 to 2008, Member Board of Directors, Member at Large, 2005-2008
  • Elected in a General Election on the Board of Directors of AAO-HNS as Co-Ordinator of Practice Affairs September 2008d -correct the date 2008d to be just 2008
  • Executive-Member Board of Directors, American Academy of Otolaryngology 1999-2005. Elected September 2002 to represent private practice in Otolaryngology, 2002-2005
  • American Board of Otolaryngology Guest Examiner (2008-2011)
  • New York University School of Medicine, Clinical Associate Professor of Otolaryngology 2000-2017
  • Clinical Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology, Weill Cornell University College of Medicine 1995-2018
  • Academic upgrade to Clinical Professor of Otolaryngology – Effective July 1, 2018 – Present
  • Board Certification – American Board of Otolaryngology (1982)
  • Fellow of the American College of Surgeons (1985) – FACS.
  • Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics – FAAP.
  • Chairman, Board of Governors, American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, 2000-2001
  • Chairman Elect, Board of Governors, 1999-2000, Past Chair 2001-2002
  • Board of Governors – American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, 1991-1999; Alternate Governor, 1988-1991; Executive Member, 1994-2002; Chairman of Rules and Regulations Committee, 1994-99; Secretary, 1997-99; Chair Elect, Board of Governors, 1999-2000, Chairman 2000-01, Past Chair 2001-2002
  • Executive-Member Board of Directors, American Academy of Otolaryngology 1999-2005. Elected September 2002 to represent private practice in Otolaryngology, 2002-2005
  • Reviewer – The Annals of Otology, Rhinology & Laryngology
  • Board Liaison International Committee 1999-2000
  • Environmental Committee 2000-2001
  • Interpersonal Relations Committee 2000-2001
  • Rhinology and Paranasal Sinus disease Committee-AAO-HNS, October, 2002-September, 2003 ; Consultant; Committee member October, 2003-2006 – September, 2009
  • Executive & Finance committee member – (E + F Committee), AAO-HNS, 1999-2002
  • ENTRI Board Member, AAO-HNS (ENT Resources Inc.) 1999-2010
  • Member Search Committee, AAO-HNS, Instruction Course Coordinator, 2001-2004
  • Nominating Committee for President of the American Academy of Otolarygology-Head and Neck Surgery, 2002-2003
  • Member Finance and Investment Subcommittee of AAO-HNS
  • Cephalgia Journal – Reviewer (2005-present)
  • Headache Journal – Reviewer (2005-present)
  • American Journal of Rhinology – Reviewer (2005-present)
  • ENT PAC Board Member 2000-01
  • ABEA Council-Board of Directors – Member at Large September 2005-2010
  • Executive Member, New York Head and Neck Society< – Treasurer 1996-2000, President Elect 2000-01, President 2001-02
  • Past President, Long Island Society of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, 2001-2002
  • Executive Member, Nassau Surgical Society – Past President
  • Listed in America’s Top Doctors January 2003 – 2019 Edition (Castle Connolly); Top Doctors in the New York Metropolitan area 2003 – 2019(Castle Connolly).
  • Listed in Top Doctors: New York Metro Area in 2003 – 2019. (Dr. Setzen has been selected as one of America’s Top Doctors by Castle Connolly Medical LTD. In the selection process, more than 250,000 physician specialists were asked to choose the best doctors in their fields. Among the questions they were asked: “To whom would you refer your own family?”)
  • Chief Rhinology Section, Dept. of Otolaryngology, North Shore University Hospital at Manhasset (2004-present)
  • Co-Chief, Section of Head and Neck Surgery and Otolaryngology, Surgeon-in-Charge, Head and Neck Section, 1990-2004 – North Shore UNiversity Hospital.
  • Previous Representative to Pediatric Department, North Shore University Hospital 1983-2002
  • Elected as a Member Board of Directors AAO-HNS – Representing Private Practice of Otolaryngology, 2002-2005
  • Speech, Voice, and Swallowing Disorders Committee – Consultant (October 1, 2005-September 30, 2006)
  • Editorial Advisory Board Member for Otolaryngology Coding Alert (2007-present)
  • Contact Dr. Setzen to Obtain Otolaryngology Services

Our Locations

Michael Setzen Otolaryngology, PC great neck location
600 Northern Blvd.
Suite 113
Great Neck, NY 11021

Tel: 516-829-0045
Fax: 516-829-0441

Michael Setzen Otolaryngology, PC manhattan
130 East 77th Street
10th Floor
New York, NY 10075

Tel: 516-829-0045
Fax: 516-829-0441

Request an Appointment

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.