



## **Annual Meeting: Wrap Up**

By all accounts, the Board of Governors (BOG) meetings at the annual meeting were a success in spite of the terrorist attacks on September 11th. Congratulations are in order for our newly elected Chair-elect, Rebecca Gaughan, MD, Olathe, KS, the first woman to be elected as chair in the BOG's 14-year existence! Peter Weber, MD was appointed as Chair of the BOG Socioeconomic and Grassroots Committee and Leonard Brown, MD was appointed Chair of the BOG Rules and Regulations Committee. Here are highlights of some of our 14 events.

**Resolutions:** See Board Actions on page **XX**. (For details of resolutions, see www.ent-net.org/bog or the November issue of *Headlines* newsletter).

Awards Ceremony: Awards ceremony recognized the model society of the year awardee, Kansas Society of Otolaryngology and the Practitioner Excellence awardee, Dr. Coyle Shea. Chair awardees were (Drs. John Campbell, David Osguthorpe, David Nielsen, Richard Holt, Neil Ward, Jack Gluckman, K.J. Lee, and Joe Leonard). Big on Goals awardees (Drs. Joseph Kershner, Gavin Setzen, Alice Morgan, Mark Wood, M. Jennifer Derebery, and Robert Puchalski (resident category).

BOG Miniseminar: Depressed Physician Reimbursement Syndrome. Participants included Karen Zupko, Eileen Giaimo, Richard Waguespack, MD, Rebecca Gaughan, MD, Dr. Harris and Thomas Logan, MD. Discussions ranged from appropriate billing practices, developing strategies to combat low and late reimbursements to available Academy resources for members to assist them with reimbursement and coding issues. Special thanks to Thomas Logan, MD and Richard Waguespack, MD for developing this seminar.

Physicians Reimbursement Study Group: Invited speakers Dr. Tim Kaiser and his attorney Judy Cates, JD, urged attendees to review their contracts for arbitration clauses, which may prevent their participation in class action lawsuits, and to be especially careful about antitrust issues. Congratulations to Dr. Jeffery Weingarten for his efforts in the UPPP and tonsillectomy issue with BCBS in Michigan.

Two new BOG Societies approved: Community Ear, Nose, and Throat Network, PA and New York Otologic Society, NY approved by the Rules and Regulations Committee.

It has been a privilege to work with such an active and dedicated group! This past year, the Board of Governors achieved many of their goals and worked closely with the Academy's leadership to ensure that grassroots members' needs were met. I will continue to work diligently on behalf of the Board of Governors and the Academy membership. My goals as Immediate Past Chair will include the following:

Continue to enhance communication with the BOG and the Academy members-at-large, especially dissemination of practice management data. Increase electronic communication and obtain email addresses from members. Continue to stimulate ENT PAC donations. Enhance international outreach and communication. Assist with enhanced corporate support for the Academy. Collect and disseminate BOG milestones and accomplishments. Develop talking points for otolaryngologists to communicate with legislators, the public, and the media. Assist with BOG Leadership Development Program.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Academy leadership: Drs. Jack Gluckman, K.J. Lee, Richard Holt, and Neil Ward, for supporting the BOG and me in our efforts during the past year. I also wish to thank the entire BOG Executive Committee without whom we would not have been able to implement our ambitious agendas and BOG staff, Florence Freeman, Director, and Gail Remy, Manager, for their hard work and effort. I also thank C. Ron Cannon, MD, Past Chair, for his many years in a leadership role as he leaves the BOG Executive Committee. Special thanks to our BOG corporate sponsors (Daiichi, Schering/Key, AstraZeneca, and GlaxoSmithKline).

Michael Setzen, MD
IMMEDIATE PAST BOG CHAIR

# **Board of Governors** 2001-2002

## **Executive Committee**

Joseph E. Leonard, MD

Chair

405-364-2666, 405-364-9627 (fax) texomajoe@att.net

#### Rebecca Gaughan, MD

Chair Elect 913-764-2737, 913-764-7502 (fax) mrsotomd@aol.com

#### Thomas Logan, MD

Secretary

270-827-2312, 270-827-0057 (fax) loganent@aol.com

## Michael Setzen, MD

Immediate Past Chair 516-482-8778, 516-482-0923 (fax) MS MD ENT@aol.com

## H. Russell Wright, MD

Member at Large 410-583-0103, 410-583-1211 (fax) rwright597@aol.com

## Richard W. Waguespack, MD

Carrier Relations Committee Chair 205-933-9036, 205-933-9051 (fax) rwagmd I @aol.com

## George Gray Kitchens, MD

Legislative Representatives Committee Chair 334-284-5470, 334-284-9714 (fax) ggk2727@aol.com

### James A. Hadley, MD

Nominee Platform Committee Chair 716-271-1900, 716-271-1978 (fax) enthadley@aol.com

## Kathleen Yaremchuk, MD

Public Relations Representatives Committee Chair 313-593-8172, 313-876-7263 (fax) kyarem1@hfhs.org

## Leonard Brown, MD

Rules and Regulations Committee Chair 865-541-2282, 865-541-2848 (fax) brownmkt@usit.net

## Peter Weber, MD

Socioeconomic & Grassroots Committee Chair 216-444-6696, 216-445-9409 (fax) weberp@ccf.org

#### Florence Freeman

Staff Liaison 877-722-6467, 703-519-1587 (fax) ffreeman@entnet.org

